A collection of six brick buildings with a complicated history, series of owners, and name
A series of late 19th and early 20th century mill buildings converted to residential during the boom of the mid-2000s
A part of the Provisions District met the wrecking ball in 2011. Owner of this and nearby buildings, The Providence Journal Company, used deferred maintenance as an excuse.
The story of two central fire stations located on the perimeter of Exchange Place, now Kennedy Plaza.
Two indistinct one-story infill buildings flanked by 100+ year old two-story mill buildings that manufactured fire safety equipment
An elaborate four and a half story Medieval Gothic armory has been plagued by underutilization for the past 20 years
The “Scherzer Rolling Lift Bridge” at Crook Point was abandoned in 1976 but once carried Providence, East Providence, Warren, & Bristol train lines
The spooky former “School for the Feeble-minded” which decayed for 20 years before being slowly razed building by building.
In use for almost 70 years, the East Side Train tunnel burrows beneath College Hill and once connected Union Station to East Providence
A low-slung, 2-story mill with numerous large windows sat vacant for years before it succumbed to a fire
This historic wooden structure over the Providence River withstood the Hurricane of 1938 but not a lighting strike on January 12, 2011
The littlest building in downtown (not including parking lot shelters) that was once home to small coffee shops.
A long fight over the demolition of a former neighborhood school — and a contributing structure to the Broadway-Armory Historic District.
What was left of the former lumber yard along Harris Ave. was replaced with new office space in 2009
Long-time tenants Davis Dairy vacated in spring 2020 after a fire damaaged the upper floors of the house
The iconic “HOPE” sign rose off the roof of a mill building as you drove north on 95 until a fire devastated it in 2004.
A turn-of-the-century 6-story downtown commercial building that is now part of the RISD campus
A nine-story commercial building turned residential and joined the ranks of its neightbors in the collective called “Westminster Lofts”
One of the first condominium mill conversions in Pawtucket, taking full advantage of the picturesque Blackstone river
Vacant since 1987, this building stood on the West Side across from Central High School for over 20 years before being completely razed to the ground.
An irregulary shaped two-story former jewelry mill turned into a small-business studio and residence
While only a small 2,600 sf portion of the original complex remains, it’s great that it was saved
A late 90s/early 2000s conversion of a small mill with new addition on North Main Street into luxury condos
A massive private home designed by important turn-of-the-century minds had as colorful a history as it had decorative stone details.
A 100-year-old ornamental steel and iron manufacturer gets a new life as a center for vocational training and art creation
A sliver of an 1829 structure survives under this turn-of-the-20th-century vaudeville theatre turned movie house turned commercial storefronts
A modest turn-of-the-century three story mill in a dense mill area of Pawtucket
A huge turn-of-the-century brick barn for trolleys that was later used by the Narragansett Brewing Company for storage & distribution.
America’s first designed and purpose-built amusement park was open for only 5 years.
Old aerials of Providence taken from different vantage points and at different times in its development.
A large parcel of land on the edge of the jewelry district whose 1- and 2-story buildings were razed by speculation but nothing yet occupies the site.
A former steel and wire manufacturing facilty along the waterfront in East Providence shut down in 1994 and was razed 10 years later
A small, five-story commercial building that underwent a modern renovation into 12 apartments on a busy downtown street