An amazingly dense complex of mill structures dating from the mid-1800s and in use for over 100 years before succumbing to two large fires in the midst of plans to redevelop
A small, square remnant of a much larger Riverside Mills complex remained as City property for almost 30 years before being torn down.
Brilliant — park on top, bowl below. Unfortunately, it just wasn’t hip enough to survive waning interest before bowling made a resurgence.
This historic wooden structure over the Providence River withstood the Hurricane of 1938 but not a lighting strike on January 12, 2011
The iconic “HOPE” sign rose off the roof of a mill building as you drove north on 95 until a fire devastated it in 2004.
Vacant since 1987, this building stood on the West Side across from Central High School for over 20 years before being completely razed to the ground.
A family-owned party supply, costume, and novelty store operating since the early 1980s. Closed in 2005 and burned in 2011.
This 175 year old stone mill suffered a suspicious and devastating fire in 2005 which razed it to the ground
This mid-1800s structure was one the few examples of Providence’s eminent architect Thomas Tefft but burned in 2006.
A 400,000+ sq. ft. series of mill buildings dating from 1870 and converted to residential units after suffering a devastating fire that leveled half the complex